Echo Bazaar

So I have recently come across Echo Bazaar…again.

The last (first) time I came across this it was either in closed beta or not open yet. Now its in an open beta so I dove right in.

The “About” section reads as follows:

1889.

Three decades ago, London was stolen by bats. Dragged deep into the earth by the Echo Bazaar. The sun is gone. All we have is the gas-light of Mr Fires.
But Londoners can get used to anything. And it’s quiet down here with the devils and the darkness and the mushroom wine. Peaceful.
But then YOU arrived.
Welcome. Delicious friend.
.
Yes, it is FREE! You connect to the game with Twitter or Facebook so that occasionally you can “echo” storylets. While you may not want to spam friends, doing this once a day gets you an automatic energy refill up to 10 actions. Pretty nice to for me considering I only have 10 actions at the moment.
I’ve only been playing a few days, and not even consecutively at that. You start out as a prisoner in Fallen London (which seems deliciously steampunk-esque) and you have to figure out how to escape. There are so many choices for actions that help develop your character and what characteristics you want them to have. I haven’t had a solid path yet, I’ve just been bouncing all over the place to see what it going on and how things work. Also I’m trying to get a decent base in the four main stats they give you (Danger, Watchfulness, Shadowy, Persuasive). The higher one of these is, the more storylets specific to that trait unlock that need that trait for completion.
.
So far it seems that some of my choices so legitimately change certain things about the game. Also, unless you use an encounter card that is used up once, you can repeat an action that you have failed. Each failure still helps level you up in that trait though, so no action is truly wasted.
You care given x number of cards and you can chose to draw one and try to complete it, which could yield mad loot or just something twisted, or you can try to follow little storylets and plot lines to make your way through Fallen London.
I think the point of the game is to try to make your way from a nothing jailbird to an influencial person in Fallen London. I think. Don’t quote me on that since I’ve only got a little bit of time into game play.
.
If you want to join me my name on EB is Voldenae Marlo and you can click this link to my Mantelpiece. At the bottom left is a “Join Voldenae Marlo” button you can click and join me. If you do please let me know, and (if I can help) I will help as much as I can and we can gang up on Fallen London together!
I’m going to try to figure more out…..
Leave a Reply

Oh the days

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
