Flogging Molly vs. Lady Gaga

As I alluded in my last post, I have to spout about Lady Gaga’s new album, Born This Way.

Please note, I love Lady Gaga. I do. When she came around and was making music I was overjoyed because I loved her sound. Now…I am severely apprehensive about where she is going. Her first album (The Fame) is one of my favorites…her new one is one of my least.

I hate saying that, but I am disappointed. Maybe I just had too high of expectations so I was setting myself up for a let down. This is probably a contributing factor, but I just feel she isn’t meeting her own standards. I’m glad she is sending a message in her music, but I feel she is too much catering to the masses (even as much as she claims she isn’t) and this is what we got. Meh. Not impressed and I do hope any future work gets better. Then again, maybe I need to listen to it more and try to let it grow on me. I’ve listened to the whole album at least twice. I’m trying. We’ll see.

*shrugs*

I’m still giving it a try. I wont write off a favored artist for something I mildly dislike, considering that I still trust she will produce more and I will likely find something I like in her future work.

 

Also a recent release, is Flogging Molly’s Speed of Darkness.

I love me some Flogging Molly, oh I do. I don’t listen to them all the time, but when I do it’s always a blast and I never anticipate a let down. Well in this case they did NOT let me down, just as I trusted them not to. It is refreshing. I am listening to the album as I type and I am enjoying it. I haven’t gotten to the point that I have favorites yet, but I know I’ll get there. Mainly because once my boyfriend gets a hold of it I will more than likely here it all the time, thus providing a chance to learn all the lyrics to sing drunkenly at the local pub.

(It isn’t MY fault they put a Pub within immediate walking distance of my apartment…nor is it my fault that they always have great specials)

I’m not sure I would yet call it better than their previous albums, but to be fair I’ve only listened to the album completely once. Plus I feel like that might be on a more subjective basis, so listen and decide for yourself!

 

ALSO: My birthday was this past Monday…I hit my quarter century mark and I disagree with being old. Hmf.

Out of it I did happen to score Trueblood Season 3 with a t-shirt. Yes I am a trubie…deal with it ^_^ (if you haven’t watched Trueblood, you should get on that).

I received a little birthday cash that I am currently saving until I see something I feel I can’t live without…so something dumb I’m sure. My Mom is going to give me a nice set of metal mixing bowl with rubber non-skid bottoms because I do indeed love me some kitchen goods. I also think she is buying me Alice: Madness Returns when it releases on June 14th because I CANNOT FRICKIN WAIT FOR THAT GAME OMG. Ok sorry, fangirling over. Until I get it of course and then you may have to ignore my blog for a few days if you get tired of Alice news.

Funny enough also on June 14th my Mom and I are going to see Katy Perry in concert. I’m excited. I haven’t been to a concert in a while, and I love love love live shows so much. We are also going to see Cirque du Soleil but I can’t remember exactly which one yet so I’ll get back to that later.

 

(I think I have found a favorite song on Speed of Darkness…just to update you)

 

In two days (Friday) I actually get to go home to celebrate my birthday with my parents! They have had my car due to issues with their jeep so I have to rely on boyfriend transport. It throws a wrench in my independent girl “I don’t need you to take me places dammit I can handle myself” lifestyle, and it oddly inconvenient, but it’s sweet of him and I don’t actually have necessary places to be for a few places so it’s cool. I maybe allowed to have my own vehicle back if Dad fixes the jeep though. If not, I still get to spoil my dog. ^_^

Sampson gets messy sometimes…I love him. He likes to pose for the camera. Maybe he is a little spoiled. Only a little though. I swear. He also doesn’t act like a giant lapdog. Ok I lie. He’s spoiled and tries to be a lapdog but he is very well behaved, loving and cuddly, which works for me.

 

I’m off now, going to play games to take my mind off not hearing back from UF about whether I am accepted or not yet. GRRRRRRR.

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
