Irish Pride

Okay, first off, I clearly thought I made a post between the one about my brother visiting and this one…I swear I did and I swore it posted.  I was excited about Spring Break and how I had no plans and was terribly excited about that.
I remember because I made Spring Break in big colorful letters.
I have no idea what the rest of the post was about…but I remember making “Spring Break” colorful.

Ah well who knows?

In Nerdtastic news, there is going to be a Doctor Who mmo.  It will be free to play, and even though it will more than likely be odd and have nothing to do with the show, I can’t wait.  Yes…I will be playing.  Oh yes.

Also, today I finally got around to watching Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day.  I’ll be honest, I was avoiding it because I loved the first movie so much that I knew I would be nothing but depressed with this one.  Let’s just say that it was definitely better than expected.  No I do not love it more than the first but I do indeed like it very much.

I thought there could be no replacement for Willem Dafoe (because the man is amazing) but Julie Benz was pretty frickin wonderful.  No lie, I loved her in it.  She had the right attitude while still being charming and was definitely a bad-ass.  The boys, Connor and Murphy were still wonderful and still manage to have fun and fight with each other while in the midst of potential life and death situations.  Rocko makes an appearance (in their dreams because yes he’s dead) and their new side kick is hilarious in his own right.  He tries so hard and instead of making me annoyed it made me warm to him.  To my delighted surprise, three of the same officers are in this movie and I love them even more because of this movie.

The action was still great and the humor was definitely still there.  Call backs to the first movie are made, which I appreciate.  Also, they still include scenes that depict the varying feelings of the public about the Saints, which I adored as well.  More of their Father’s story is revealed, which is lovely since I for one was wondering the entire damn first movie as to why he was in prison for 25 years.  This gives you an explanation and resolution which I found to be interesting even if I did want more from it.

I was not disappointed and it makes me want to re-watch the first one…again.  It may not be the epic work that the first one was, but it was more than adequate for fans, and for progressing plot and characters that people grew to love in the Cult Classic scale that they did.  No, not as great at the first one, but completely worth it still.  I tried to avoid major spoilers in case readers haven’t seen it.  However if, like me, you were hesitant to watch it in case you thought you would be disappointed, don’t be.  Watch it and laugh and enjoy yourself.

It was also perfect timing since St.Patrick’s Day is just around the corner.  Now I am an Italian girl, from an Italian family.  Let me rephrase that.  I am a eastern-european, mediterranean mixed, american girl.  Italian runs strong in the family though and we look more Italian than anything and practice those particular traditions.  That being said, I am very aware and proud of my Irish heritage.  That being said, St. Patrick’s Day is a holiday I love.  It comes on a Thursday this year, which it terribly convenient since I have no Friday classes.  Will I be getting smashed? No.  Will I indulge in a Guinness or two while wearing as much green as possible? Yes.  I will since bawdy and hugely inappropriate Irish diddies and belt out Flogging Molly.

I’m also hoping that some Luck of the Irish is with me since I just submitted my application to graduate school a few hours ago.  I’m nervous, but terribly excited and I have my fingers crossed that I get in.  If I do I will be on my way to getting a Master’s of Science in Forensic Science.  I’m so excited about the projected curriculum and I will be pretty devastated if I don’t get in.  I will also reapply for the next viable semester if I don’t.  I feel that eventually they will get the picture and just let me in.

Maybe.

Brief Horror Rant/Update:
I watched The Crazies as well today, a remake of a 1970s flick, but I heard this remake was better than the original.  It was interesting and I didn’t hate it but I also don’t find it so remarkable as to add to my must have horror list.  Another remake that isn’t on my list but I have found myself owning a copy is My Bloody Valentine.  I found it for $3 and decided to go for it and was saddened.  I knew it wouldn’t be great but I hate when  figure out non-mystery based movies before the first third of the movie.  Ugh.  I do love Jensen Ackles though so I’ll let it slide because he’s so pretty and epic in Supernatural.  Then again that show is oddly filled with hot men and monsters so what’s not to love?

Hopefully the upcoming week wont be too busy despite all the paper writing I have to do.   I plan on reviewing I Spit On Your Grave as I have acquired a copy of it.  Well, acquired a copy of the newer one.  The original was made in the 1970s and I want to watch it but people said it was better so I want to watch this one first. Also, I have not gotten my hands on a copy of the original, so there.  I acknowledge there is an original and I will get to it I swear.

Also, apparently (yes apparently to everyone’s knowledge except my own) David Tennant is in the new Fright Night remake which made that movie a “must see” on my list.

Alright Alright I have jabbered enough, off to bed with a book  (Neverwhere) for me.

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
