I has brain!!

Ok so the title may not be the best indication of what it was actually trying to portray.  In any case though, I just took the GRE this past Friday, and spent the entire week before hand so stressed about it that I was actually convinced I would fail.  Thankfully I was smarter than I gave myself credit for, and my friends all told me I was fine (which I didn’t believe at the time) but I scored above the minimum requirement needed for the particular program I am applying for.

Also, with a little less ripping out of the hair, I should feel comfortable with my Letter of Intent soon so that I can actually submit the application.  Fingers crossed.  *crosses fingers*

On a fun note, I jokingly joined a contest held by the Nerd Girl Pinups facebook page in conjunction with a comic artist.  The contest was for the best Zombie name you could come up with, my entry being “Abra Cadaver”.  I tied first place, but luckily myself and four others with the most votes win, so we all get copies of the sketchbook for the comic.  Free Zombie comic sketchbook art FTW.

I may also have a photographer lined up soon, *crosses fingers…again*

The point of this post in 3…2…1….

The Princess Bride

I, like many others of my generation, have no idea how many times I have seen this movie.  It’s safe to say that its a ridiculous amount though.  The problem is, once I got into high school and college I stopped watching it because I was busy being involved with non-princess bride things.  Well, the local Best Buy likes to put older movies on sale at random.  Over Halloween I bought Hocus Pocus for $6 and I was ecstatic.  On a whim, while purchasing printer ink (since my printer conveniently ran out half-way through the print job >_<) I chanced to look at the cheap dvds of the week.  I saw The Princess Bride on blu-ray for $12.  I felt that was a great price but felt no need to own it on blu-ray.  I feel this way about a lot of older movies.  As I turned to walk away I glanced down and saw the dvd for $5  and let out a slightly girlie shriek and grabbed it immediately.  I thought I was totally smooth until the girl at the check out counter told me she did the same thing and I was embarrassed any one bore witness to my shriek.  Its ok though.  We gushed over it, I went home, and didn’t get a chance to watch it until after my GRE.

When  re-watched this movie for the first time in years it was like magic all over again.  I have the collectors edition so I watched fun special features and almost cried in nostalgic happiness.  This movie will never not be amazing to me and many many others, and it is well deserved.  I had almost forgotten why I loved this movie so much, but I will never doubt again.  Talk about a best buy.  I’m almost tempted to watch it again.  Not that the boyfriend would mind because he was actually sad I watched it without him Friday.

If you haven’t seen it in a while, or ever, and are looking for a lovely nostaligic joy, or new love, I highly recommend watching this movie, you wont regret it, ever.

Screw it, I am totally watching it again.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 09:19:43

    Good luck on the NGP contest, I shall have to wander over to that page and have a look for your submission when I get the chance.

    OMG. I love the Princess Bride, I know that may seem just a tad creepy knowing that those sentiments are coming out of a fully grown adult male specimen. But I can’t help it the story is just so touching and funny.

    I can remember the first time I was forced to watch it, my gf at the time rented it and told me it was a comedy. Looking at the box I think it took some “special encouragement” to get me to sit down and watch it. But ever since then I was hooked. I have a couple of versions floating around here somewhere but not the Blu-Ray edition as of yet…. I will have to pick that up soon.

    As you wish……
    Bob

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:33:42

      I just think it shows how wonderful this movie is that so many different people, despite age, sex, country, etc etc etc, just adore it.
      I also have gained a copy of the game, which has been making me giggle like a little girl. It happens! ^_^

      Reply

  2. Rincewind
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:26:15

    I actually read the book first and was just blown away. Was slightly scared about the movie but why should I, it’s just as great as the book was. Me and my flatmate do have our times when we walk around quoting the movie all time long
    ‘HE DIDN’T FALL? INCONCEIVABLE.
    You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
    ahh think I will go and put on my dvd now…

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 14:35:42

      This movies was my old roommate’s favorite, and she just to jump out random places at me shouting “My name is Inigo Montoya, You kill my father, Prepare to Die” and we would fake fence around and collapse laughing.

      It’s quotability is pretty high, I might have to go watch it…again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
