TV Shows Worth A Nerd Girls Time

As a busy undergrad obtaining her second degree I don’t watch a lot of television.  At least not when it airs.  I catch up on things I miss when I get the chance via avenues such as Hulu.com or being naughty and torrenting them until I can ask for a season for a gift.

When I DO have time however, I feel like watching shows that are going to be worth it.  As such, occasionally I watch really insane things that I love, and sometimes I’m terribly picky.

That being said, I think my tastes harken to fellow nerds.

Doctor Who

Doctor Who

As was given by my last post, I am indeed a Doctor Who fan.  It may have take me a while to jump on the wagon for it, but I chose a wonderful time since I actually had the time to watch enough of it to satisfy me.  Yes I chose David Tennant on purpose for the picture.  Doctor Who satisfies my need for science fiction, time travel, and awesomeness.  If you haven’t watching Doctor Who…you should, it was lame of me to have waited so long to watch this amazing show.  I need to get access to the original series and then I’ll be set.  Also, Doctor Who is yet another example in my firm belief that the majority of British television is better than U.S. television.

 

The Big Bang Theory

The Big Bang Theory

I’m pretty much in love with this show.  Silliness, physics, and awkward nerd moments make it one of my current favorite shows.  While not all of the episodes are pure gold, its rare to find one that isn’t worth the half hour.  Also, due to recent experience I find that it has nice re-watch value if you are working on something simultaneously….such as I am right now ^_^.

 

Scrubs

Scrubs

Scrubs is one of my absolute favorite shows…ever.  While a few of the later season have been less glorious than the prior due to the writers strike and impending cancellations that never happened, this show kept me sane while I was getting my first degree.  I have not, and more than likely will not, watch after Season 8, when they started “Scrubs Med School”, but the ending of Season 8 made me cry like a little little girl with sadness and joy.  Seriously, watching the entire series and then the finale made it worth it.  Also, the re-watch value in my opinion is stellar since I have watched the show more times than my credibility would like to admit.  Scrubs is pretty much my go to pick-me-up and I love it.

 

Dexter

Dexter

Dexter is one of those shows that you wont know how much you love it until you watch it.  Some people scoff at the idea of watching a show based around a Serial Killer who is a the good guy, but it is definitely worth it.  I haven’t seen the latest season unfortunately but I’ve loved all of the previous seasons and it definitely works for the inner nerd (and potentially the inner psycho…)

 

Bones

Bones

Bones is one of the shows that reaffirms my decision to stay in the field of science.  It even deepened my love for Anthropology enough to make me decide to get a second undergrad in the field.  Beyond that, I just love all of the characters and the storylines keep me engaged without getting bored if I watch more than one in a row.   This show has made me want to cry and made me laugh hysterically.  Also they are all so very very pretty.


Supernatural

Supernatural

This is a show that I adore madly as it continually throws monsters and mythology at me.  The show is centered around the lovely gorgeous Wincester brothers, Dean and Sam and their continual task in trying to save the world from all the creepy nasty baddies out there.  It makes me want to tote around shotguns filled with rock salt in my trunk.  I mean hey, you never know when an angry ghost is going to show up right?

 

NCIS

NCIS

I used to be a big CSI fan but after the first few seasons I was done with it.  I know that not all shows can maintain wonderful story lines and characters, and not all forensic shows use accurate methods, but good lord the inaccurate scientific methods killed me and after a few characters I liked left I was done with it.  On the other hand, I love NCIS.  I may not always be in the mood to watch more than one episode, but I do so love the characters and I feel like the story lines are much better than NCIS.  As a whole I feel like the series is better than CSI and much more fun to watch.

How I Met Your Mother

How I Met Your Mother

I just recently started watching this show, and it was solely based on the fact that Neil Patrick Harris was in it.  Not a bad reason in my opinion and the show has not disappointed me.  While I don’t consider it to be the best thing I watch, I still think it worth the change to see and laugh at.

This list is not complete as I watch other things like Heroes (even though I’m only half way through Season 3 still 😦 ) and Family Guy, and probably a number of other shows that I would be sad to forget in my list, however for times sake, I think I might just leave the list here and call it a night since I should be going to be at a decent time to start class tomorrow.  I wont go to bed at a decent hour, but I should ^_^.

Note that my list is also primarily American TV shows because I get access to few over seas shows, but please feel free to recommend others shows or share your feelings on these.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 06:45:09

    As you know I am also a huge fan of the new and improved Dr Who. My current faves also include Caprica a spin off of the now concluded Battlestar Galactica. Alas this also has been terminated due to slipping ratings.

    I adore Big Bang Theory, and like any type of smart crime based drama.
    If you haven’s checked out The Walking Dead on AMC shame on you. 5 Stars!!! Total family fun!! Well if your family is part of the brain sucking set anyways.

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:19:25

      OMG How did I forget The Walking Dead!?!?!?!?
      I’m probably going to do another zombie post soon anyway and I’ll talk about it then, but yes, TWD is absolutely wonderful. I recently went to Atlanta, GA and a friend showed me the parts of the streets they used to film certain scenes in the series (such as the back alley and the tank scene), I guess I should include that in the post huh? ^_^

      I haven’t watched Caprica but I’ve heard it’s good so maybe I’ll give it a try.

      Have you ever scene Firefly? That’s another I should have included as it was also fantastic even if it only had one season.

      Reply

  2. Bob
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:24:39

    I think that I was the only geek on my block that never got addicted to Firefly. Heard lots of good things about it though.

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 15:27:30

      When it first came out FOX aired several of the episodes in the wrong order and didn’t air others so the ratings were all of the place and it was canceled. It also made it hard to get into for some people. It helps to know someone with the DVDs and just watch it that way, which is what I did. I definitely enjoyed it more the second go round when things made more sense!!

      Reply

  3. Bob
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 16:54:00

    Oh.. oh I can’t believe I forgot one of the best. Invader Zim…. Have you the brain worms… Classic!!

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 17:19:39

      I’m actually going to write a post reserved for cartoons and anime as I love Invader Zim. Death Note is great as well, I highly recommend it even if you aren’t an anime fan (since I am in general, not)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
