Love and Brains Part II

In Love and Brains I wrote about a few of my choices for Valentine’s Day Horror movies.  As per usual I left out some other choices I would like to include, and inevitably I will again, so bare with me and read as I go.

Zombieland
I cannot believe that I didn’t remember to include this in part I.  For what ever reason I did, I’ll make up for it now by saying this is a great date movie.  I should no, because that’s how I saw it.  I will in fact be buying this movie when I get out of class on Tuesday, and probably watch it on VD.  This movie has pretty much everything I truly love in a Zombie movie; comedy, flesh eating undead, nerdy boys, cameos, and lots of destruction.  I don’t love it more than Shaun of the Dead, but it’s damn close.  So for those of you that love ZomRomCom (zombie romantic comedy) like me, then I’d recommend going for this choice.  I’ve heard tell that there is a Zombieland II in the works.  Not much is out about it yet and I can’t decide if I’m excited or not, because as much as I would love to see more of this, I’m worried they’ll ruin it as many sequels do.  Either way, go watch Zombieland, it’s fun.

Planet Terror
Not the best Zombie movie, but I enjoyed the Grindhouse duo immensely.  This movie was full of  random celebrities, gratuitous violence, hot girls, and of course, the undead/infected.  If you love campy movies, it’s a fun choice, although I always watch this and Death Proof together, it just feels right

Death Proof
The second in the Grindhouse duo.  I thought I would hate it, I really did, but I should have known better.  I love Quentin Tarantino, and he did not fail me here.  This movie was just a lot of fun and crazy car stunts and insanity.  I liked it.  If you’re in for a long night, then I recommmend the Grindhouse two.

Wristcutters: A Love Story
Not a zombie movie at all.  Hell not even horror, but it’s an offbeat cute indie-esque romantic comedy that would be perfect if you are in the mood for something strange but not horrifying.  It may be the most normal choice I could give you other than Amelie.  (and if you don’t know what Amelie is you are fired and I am never talking to you again.  It’s like saying you haven’t seen a George Romero flick.  Ok it isn’t, but it makes sense in my mind.)

Otis
This was a fun movie to me.  It has your typical twisted kidnapper and your resourceful teenage girl.  The kicker is her family.  They made the movie and it was fun to think of what your family would do if they were in the same situation.  I like to think my family would handle it similarly ^_^.  I’ll admit, it isn’t the best horror movie ever, but it is fun, and it would make a date snuggle up to you as you watch.

I’ll have some new movies under my belt soon, I as I have laid hands on Dead Girl, Guinea Pig, Evil Dead Trap, and Ab-normal Beauty.  I doubt any of these will make the recommended VD list, but they will probably join my choice of twisted movies I do so love.  If you know anything bout them let me know, as I’ve just gotten them and know basically nothing about them as of yet.

And also, just because I’m interested, what is you favorite flavor of horror movie???

Peave, love, and brains

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
