O RLY?

So I could again apologize for my absence, so I get down to actually writing instead of being annoying. Well ok the annoying bit isn’t going to go away, its kind of who I am.

However, I do have a good reason this time (aside from laziness) because I am (slowly but surely) packing up my apartment to move 6-7 hours away. I am less traumatized by the idea of a move so far from home now, I’m just upset because my mom is upset. Granted I am in my mid-twenties, but she is spoiled by having me around a considerable amount (I live 50 minutes from home) so it’s stressing since I am close to my parents.

Granted it was bound to happen sooner or later. It’ll be ok. With the ridiculous amounts of tech I own I’ll still talk to her all the time, which helps assuage her fears that the hillbillies hiding in the high mountains of West Virginia are going to steal and eat me and she’ll never hear from me again. MY fears of this haven’t lessened but hers have so it’s ok.

Quick bit of business.
When I started this blog I fully intended for it to be a more review and reference style blog with bits of myself and my life tossed in at random, but it seems when work picks up I fall by the wayside with my goal. As a two time college graduate and current grad student, this is clearly bound to happen.
And while I am as much an attention whore as the next blogger, I have no delusions that I am interesting enough on my own for people to just read willy nilly.
So my question is, what would you like to see more of?

Also, IF (a BIIIIIIIIIG If) I can manage to have enough forethought to suggest a topic for my next post would you be interested in submitting suggestions/mini-reviews/insight/etc?

I would definitely be interested in getting some interaction from people out there.

Ok so that business concluded (can you tell I just figured out how to make polls? ^_^) I have a funny (to me) story.
I have part of this blog set aside as a platform for people to access and buy plushies from me. I have a little widgit box to My Etsy Account (currently in vacation mode due to the move so any commissions require you to message me personally right now) on the sidebar so that people can get to it quickly. In my experience, most people don’t like having to actually search for things, so I am ok with making it easier on them. At any rate, I specialize in handmade nerdy plushies. Almost all of the patterns have been made by me, and I try not to sell something that the official license holder is currently making. For example, I have made a companion cube, but I really don’t sell them because Valve makes them as well. I’ve done trades for them, and birthday presents, but I try not to step on toes. I can’t afford the legal recourse.

However, IF the item is not being made, like Brain Slugs, I sell them.

Until now that is.

I received a message through etsy from Fox asking me to cease selling them because Brain Slugs are their intellectual property. I have no qualms with this, they did create Futurama and Brain Slugs, but currently Comedy Central is the one airing the new episodes of Futurama and they make no brain slugs, there fore I am not taking away from their revenue.
They did ask me to remove them from etsy so I did, no harm no foul, I’d rather comply politely than get in trouble.

I’m a student, I make plushies to attempt to make a meager living, not to cause issues with corporations that make more money in one year than I will see in a life time.

That being said, I can still make them all day every day as long as there is no “profit”. Meh. Presents and trades still work.

I want to return to movie/book reviews soon, until then, for fun Summer flicks I recommend Drive Angry (on dvd), Pirates IV (way better than the 2nd and 3rd), or catching up on Supernatural, or even watching the newest BBC Sherlock Holmes which is incidentally AMAZING and I cannot wait for season 2. Or, if you are lucky enough to have HBO, dive in to True Blood, which is stunning and I almost love it more than the books, which is saying something. (I also need to catch up on Doctor Who >_<)

As for books, I continuing last Summer’s reading choices by working my way through all the Christopher Moore novels that I haven’t yet read. He’s hilarious, sarcastic, and ridiculously wonderful enough for Summer reading. Also, I intend to catch up on the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Mysteries novels by Charlaine Harris, as well as work through a few of her other series (that woman is a writing machine!)

As for games, Steam has been letting some pretty amazing sales fly in celebration of Summer, seriously amazing deals if you are interested. Also I have been eating up Alice: Madness Returns which has been amazing (a full review is coming of that I assure you). Suffice to say that American McGee and Spicy Horse certainly out did themselves. And, because they are such nice people, they have released the first game, American McGee’s Alice for free if you purchased Madness Returns, and for $9.99 (I believe, it could be cheaper) download if you didn’t, with achievements for both if you are in fact an achievement whore (you may laugh but I live with one and it can become dangerous…lol).

If you survived this ridiculously long post, then I thank you for your continued support and will try to reward you with pretty picture filled posted soon. Potentially of Cirque du Soleil’s Alegría because my Mom and I are going to see it Thursday!! ^_^

What are your summer movies and books? I’m always looking for more! (incidentally if you have a Suncoast near you they are having a crazy movie sale, go before it ends!)

Until next time internet world ^_^

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rincewind
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 16:06:20

    Best movie out right now is Bridesmaids without a doubt, Went and saw it with my flatmate, I was the only guy in the audience but was a long time since I laughed so much. Go and see it. And Cirque Du Soleil, love them, they are always amazing to watch, you will so enjoy it.

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 13:50:30

      I’ve been wanting to see Bridesmaids actually, glad to hear it is actually funny and not just advertised as such. I’ll have to go see it soon…after Cirque du Soleil tonight that is ^_^.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

