Blerglrglrgl

That is the sound that my brain is making.  Why you ask?  Because I finished several commissions that I had and have spent the past two days trying to contact the people who ordered them to no avail.  Well…some avail.  Etsy decided to get all complex on me and shuffle things about so that I almost had no idea what to do about one person’s order while trying to reserve list another person’s order.  It was all just a bit more ridiculous than it actually needed to be.

I’m close to pulling my hair out now however.  I have an odd honor system about my orders.  I try not to accept money for anything until I have completed the order, and I try to ship the item out as fast as I can one I receive the payment.  I feel like a customer really deserves nothing less, and I am really uncomfortable with taking money for something that does not yet exist.  I understand that is just a twitch of mine.  It just bothers me and since I can operate around it, I do.

However I now have 4 orders ready to ship and only one person has responded and paid me so I can ship out her order tomorrow. >_<  I’m getting twitchy with all these people’s order scattered about on my desk…judging me.
In awesome news, whilst I was frantically corresponding back and forth with the girl whose order went all wonky, I updated some much needed mess.  I added a widget for my

Etsy Shop on to my Tumblr, which was exciting.  I learned (the hard way) that I cannot post a moving widget on my blog, I changed/added/fixed my frickin Gravatar image thingy that had been plaguing me for ages, and then I made a new banner that is considerably less crap-tastic for my etsy.

Voldenae's Plushies

Judge it if you like, it looks much better than the old banner I made and I’m proud of it.  If you are interested in browsing or purchasing anything from my shop, just click the banner or click the link I added to the section with my other websites.  I take commissions for items that might be sold out of my shop, and I also take suggestions and ideas for new things to try to make.

LittleBigPlanet 2

Getting back into the swing of trying to review some things (that aren’t tv shows >_<), I wanted to mention that I have been playing a lot of LittleBigPlanet 2 recently as it just came out last week.  As much as I loved LBP (and oh how I loved it), LBP 2 is so amazing that I feel no need to ever play LBP again. The first one was revolutionary in its own right and was pure amazing.  In the second one, Media Molecule has seriously outdone themselves.  I had no idea how they could possibly improve an already great game, but they seriously upped the ante on this one in a way that not many developers ever manage of their sequels (unless you’re Naughty Dog making Uncharted that is).  LittleBigPlanet 2 is unfiltered awesome.  UNFILTERED!!!!I haven’t finished the story mode yet, I am seriously trying to not rush through it since I sincerely believe that I would if I didn’t control myself.  I have been playing a lot of the community made levels though, and some of those have been quite amazing.  There are people who do not have lives that just build LBP levels and I bless their creative little hearts for it.

In a quick mention, I am currently reading Married With Zombies.
Ok to be fair I am reading a lot of things right now, all of which involve dead things, and that is including my textbooks for class.  Anyway, I am only a third of the way in and I’m finding it pretty enjoyable.

In general I love zombie books.  Mainly because I love zombies, and I love books.  Naturally the two combined should strike my fancy.  This is not always the case, which is just bully on them.  Jesse Petersen is a fun writer though, and that’s what I love about her.  Authors that take themselves too seriously and ruin any fun in reading a book that doesn’t have to be serious are just lame.  That’s right, lame.

I also feel that if you aren’t a good writer then you should be funny.  It’s true, it makes reading something less than stellar entertaining.  Luckily this is not the case with Petersen.  She’s funny without having to be a bad writer, which I find I appreciate.  The emerging genre of RomZomComs (Romantic Zombie Comedy) or ZomRomCom depending on who you are I suppose, is probably one of my favorite genres to read now.  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies with its sequel Dawn of the Dreadfuls did it well too,  this genre is just right up my alley.

By the way, all the links for these books go to Goodreads which is an awesome site where you can track what you’ve read and look up reviews by other readers about books you may be interested in.  It’s also spectacular for helping you find new books if you are looking for something new.  I highly recommend it, it’s free and super fast to sign up.

Have a lovely day/night/whatever time you are reading this, I’m going to go make sure I haven’t forgotten to update anything online while I’m on a roll.  Potential future posts about silly zombie apocalypse advice coming soon?  We’ll see what strikes my fancy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 21:52:38

    I just saw the add for Little Big Planet 2 on the TV this afternoon. One person said it was like the equivalent Sony version of Mario. Please tell me that they are wrong. The game actually looked pretty cool, do you play a doll or something?

    Saw something about levels that people make and share on-line is that correct? Please excuse my ignorance on this game, remember when I was your age arcades still took quarters. :)

    Reply

    • Voldenae
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 23:30:17

      No, as much as I enjoy Mario, this is definitely no Mario game. While it can be a bit like a side scrolling platformer, that’s about the only similarity that they have. LBP also includes puzzles, crazy interactive pieces, and yes, you control Sackboy, who is a ragdoll type puppet that you can customize the snot out of.

      As for the levels, the story levels in game are gorgeous, intense, fun, and hilarious. Instead of just giving you a game with levels, they also gave each player access to the level building tools so that they can build their own levels and games. From here, you can build pretty much anything your imagination comes up with since the tools are not limiting. After creating a level, you can “publish” it so then everyone else who owns the game can play your level as well. They have ways that you can save the levels to play again later and all that minute social jazz, but it pretty much ensures that you are never ever done playing the game, even though some of the user created levels are less than stellar. Then again some of the user created levels are just as good as the levels made by the creators. What’s fun is if you fancy a particular game, you can keyword search and find levels based off of it, which is pretty awesome. They have also tweaked the level creator so that you can now make racing games as well as tower defense, and someone is even working on a Final Fantasy VII remake, including the world map and random battles. It’s pretty amazing what we can get out of that game.
      Wow I could have made an entry on just the LBP creator ^_^

      And arcades still take quarters…they just take a lot more now >_< lol

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Oh the days

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

